What is Beaver Scouting ?

Beaver Scouts
are young people usually aged between 6 and 8 years old and
membership is open to both boys and girls. They belong to the first and youngest
Section in the Scouting family. Young people can join Beaver Scouts in the three
months leading up to their sixth birthday. They can move to the next Section,
Cub Scouts, between 8 and 8½ years.There are 4 Beaver Colonies in the District.

These are:
           1st Exmoor          
1st Watchet Sea Scouts      

Easily recognised by their distinctive turquoise sweatshirts, Beaver Scouts enjoy
making friends, playing games, going on visits and helping others. They usually
meet together once a week in a Beaver Scout Colony.

Some Beaver Scout Colonies also organise Sleepovers. These are often the first time a young person spends a night away from home. They take place in suitable buildings, often Scout centres.

 The Balanced programme

The philosophy underpinning the programme is that every Beaver Scout should participate in a Balanced
Programme over a period of time. The emphasis has shifted from a badge and award driven culture to one
that ensures that all young people experience a quality programme covering a wide range of subjects. To help,
the Balanced Programme is divided into a number of Programme Zones, methods and underlying ways of working.

Programme Zones split the whole programme into manageable areas. Each Zone represents a different development area in a young person's life. There are five Programme Zones in Beaver Scouting. They are:

          Getting to Know Other People
          Learning About Yourself
          Exploring the World Around Us
          Discovering Creativity and Practical Skills
          Discovering Beliefs and Attitudes

 Badges and Awards

There are lots of Awards and badges available to Beaver Scouts.                      

Membership and Joining In Badges
(The Membership and Joining-In Awards signify that a Beaver Scout has made their
promise and has participated in the programme for a period of time.

The Moving on Award (Cub Scout to Scout)

(The Challenges complement the balanced programme. These have been developed to
extend Beaver Scouts' skills and experience. The Challenges are optional and continue
throughout the Sections providing continuity from age 6 to 25.)
  • The Outdoor Challenge
  • The Discovery Challenge
  • The Friendship Challenge

Chief Scout's Bronze Award
(This badge is the highest award available in the Beaver Scout Section. It is gained by
the Outdoor Challenge, plus Friendship or Discovery challenge, plus a personal

(If a Beaver Scout has not quite completed the requirements for the top award before they
move on to the Cub Scout Pack, they may complete it in their early weeks in the Cub Scout Pack..)

Activity Badges
(There are five Activity badges specially designed for the Beaver Scout section, along with
the four Staged badges.)

Group Awards
(Additionally there are three awards to be completed in association with other sections of your

The International Award
The Faith Award
The Environment Award

Membership, Joining In & Moving on Award
The Challenges
The Chief Scouts' Bronze Award
Environment, Faith and  International Awards
 The Beaver Scout Promise

The Beaver Scout Promise is:

I promise to do my best
To be kind and helpful
And to love God.

 The Beaver Scout Motto

The Beaver Scout Motto is:

Be Prepared