What is Cub Scouting ?

Cub Scouts
are aged 8 to 10½ years and both boys and girls can join. Because of the
Childrens Act a young person should only come in to the Pack at age 8 years. They can
move to the next Section, Scouts, between 10½ and 11 years. There are 5 Cub Packs
in the District.

These are:
         1st Exmoor - two Cub packs (Minehead)             
          1st Watchet Sea Scouts             1st Williton

There are loads of fun things that you can do as a Cub Scout. You will get a chance
to try lots of different activities like swimming, music, exploring, computing and
collecting. If you do them properly you will get a badge which you can wear on your

Cub Scouts also get to go on trips and days out, to places like the zoo, theme parks
or a farm. Sometimes you will be able to go camping with the rest of your Pack. This
will mean you
sleeping in a tent and doing loads of outdoor activities.

 The Balanced programme

The key to programme planning in Cub Scouts is the Balanced Programme.

The philosophy underpinning the programme is that every Cub Scout should participate in a Balanced Programme
over a period of time. The emphasis has shifted from a badge and award driven culture to one that ensures that
all young people experience a quality programme covering a wide range of subjects. To help, the Balanced
Programme is divided into a number of Programme Zones, methods and underlying ways of working.

Programme Zones split the whole programme into manageable areas. Each Zone represents a different development
area in a young person's life. There are seven Programme Zones in Cub Scouting. They are:

       Outdoor Scouting          Fitness          Discovering the World Around You       
       Creative       Beliefs and Attitudes       Caring and Community        Global

 Badges and Awards

There are lots of Awards and badges available to Cub Scouts.

Membership and Joining In Badges
(The Membership and Joining-In Awards signify that a Cub Scout has made their
promise and has participated in the programme for a period of time.

The Moving on Award (Cub Scout to Scout)

(The Challenges complement the balanced programme. These have been developed to
extend Cub Scouts' skills and experience. The Challenges are optional and continue
throughout the Sections providing continuity from age 6 to 25.)
  • The Outdoor Challenge
  • The Creative Challenge
  • The Fitness Challenge
  • The Global Challenge
  • The Caring Challenge

Chief Scout's Silver Award
(This badge is the highest award available in the Cub Scout Section. It is gained by
the Outdoor Challenge, plus two other challenges, plus a personal challenge )

(If a Cub Scout has not quite completed the requirements for the top award before
they move on to the Scout Troop, they may complete it in their early weeks in the
Scout Troop.)

Activity Badges
(There are 32 Activity badges specially designed for the Cub Scout section, along
with the four Staged badges. Additionally there are three awards to be completed in association with other sections of your Groups.)

The International Award
The Faith Award
The Environment Award

Membership, Joining In & Moving on Award
The Challenges
The Chief Scouts' Silver Award
Environment, Faith and  International Awards
 The Cub Scout Promise

The Cub Scout Promise is:

I promise that I will do my best
To do my duty to God and to the Queen,
To help other people
And to keep the Cub Scout Law

 The Cub Scout Law

The Cub Scout Law is:

Cub Scouts always do their best
Think of others before themselves
And do a good turn every day.

 The Cub Scout Motto

The Cub Scout Motto is:

Be Prepared