What is Explorer Scouting ?

Explorer Scouts
have a core age range of 14-18 years, but you can join at 13½
years and remain in the Section until 18½ years. They make up the fourth Section
of the Scouting family. There are many types of Explorer Scout Units, some may
be linked to your local Scout Group, others may be based around different activities.
There are 2 Explorer Scout Units in the District. These are:
             Watchet Mariner Explorers             Alpha Stags Explorers

Both Explorer Units accept boys and girls.

As an Explorer Scout, you will get the chance to work with other Explorer Scouts in
your District, not just your Unit. By doing this, you will get the chance to do many
more actvities, not just the ones your Unit organises.

Scouting has always been a dynamic and forward-looking Movement. In the early
days of Scouting, Lord Baden-Powell saw the need to provide a programme for
young people who wanted to continue after their time in the Scout Section. Senior
Scouts was developed to meet this need, and the Section continued to evolve
over the years.

In 1967, Venture Scouting was formed from the existing Senior Scout and Rover
Scout Sections. During the late 1990s, it was decided that, in order to meet the
changing needs of new generations, two new Sections should be created for
young people over the age of fourteen. Explorer Scouts for 14 to 18-year-olds
and the Scout Network for 18 to 25-year-olds were created.

 The Balanced programme

A Balanced Programme lies at the heart of the Explorer Scout programme.

There are eight Programme Zones, each with its own aims for the Explorer Scouts taking part in activities in that Zone. The Programme Zones for Explorer Scouts are:

          Physical Recreation
          Community Service
Unit programmes should always show the following underlying values and ways of working:

          getting on with others
          keeping the Promise
          personal development
          working together

 Badges and Awards

There are many Awards and badges available to Explorer Scouts.

Membership and Joining In Badges
(The Membership and Participation Awards signify that a Explorer Scout has made their
promise and has participated in the programme for a period of time.

The Moving on Award (Explorer Scout to Scout Network)

Chief Scout's and Queen's Scouts Award
In ther Explorer Scout section there are three main awards:

          The Chief Scout's Platinum Award
          The Chief Scout's Diamond Award
          The Queen's Scout Award

Chief Scout's Gold Award
(This badge is the highest award available in the Scout Section. It is gained by
the Outdoor Challenge, plus four other challenges, plus a personal challenge )

Explorer Belt
(The Explorer Belt is the challenge of a lifetime that is available to Explorer Scouts aged over
16 and members of the Scout Network. Participants need to plan and train for an International
Expedition and travel through another country for ten days

Activity Badges
(There are 14 Activity badges specially designed for the Explorer Scout section, along with the
four Staged badges. Additionally there are three awards to be completed in association with
other sections of your Groups.)

The International Award
The Faith Award
The Environment Award

Membership, Joining In & Moving on Award
Chief Scout's and Queen's Scouts Awards
Activity Badges
 The Explorer Scout Promise

The Explorer Scout Promise is:

I promise that I will do my best
To do my duty to God and to the Queen,
To help other people
And to keep the Scout Law

 The Explorer Scout Law

The Explorer Scout Law is:

A Scout is to be trusted.
A Scout is loyal.
A Scout is friendly and considerate.
A Scout belongs to the worldwide family of Scouts.
A Scout has courage in all difficulties.
A Scout makes good use of time and is careful of possessions and property.
A Scout has self-respect and respect for others.

 The Explorer Scout Motto

The Explorer Scout Motto is:

Be Prepared